Quick Query


Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts various  exams such as exam for Civil Services, IFS, NDA, CDS, SCRA etc. Civil services examination is popularly known as IAS exam and includes almost 24 services like IFS, IPS, IRS, IRPS and so on. For more details about UPSC Examination, check this link.


Civil Services exam is one the most reputed and tough to crack exams in India. The number of test takers is almost 3 to 4 lakhs and now a days number of vacancies is almost 1100. It clearly shows that only few hard working students can get success in this UPSC examination and this all can be done not only by hard work but by a planned hard work. Generally the number of vacancies varies every year.


UPSC Exam Eligibility

·         For the IAS, IFS & IPS, a candidate must be a citizen of India.

·         For the IRS and other services, a candidate must be one of the following:

·         A citizen of India

·         a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia or Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India

Educational Qualification for UPSC Examination

All candidates must have as a minimum one of the following educational qualifications:

·         A degree from a Central, State or Deemed university

·         A degree received through correspondence or distance education

·         A degree from an open university

·         A qualification recognized by the Government of India as being equivalent to one of the above

UPSC Examination Age Limit

A candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years on August 1 of the year of examination.

For OBC  the upper age limit is 35, and for SC and ST the limit is 37 years.

Numbers of attempts for UPSC Exam

1.         The number of attempts for IAS exam: General Category: 6 attempts till 32 years of age.

2.        The number of attempts for IAS exam: OBC: 9 attempts till 35 years of age.

3.        The number of attempts for IAS exam: SC/ST: Unlimited attempts till 37 years of age.


NB: Physically Handicapped /disabled candidates belonging to General category will get the benefit of 9 attempts till the age prescribed by UPSC – 42 years.


How are attempts for Civil Service Exam calculated?

If you appear for any of the papers of the Civil Services Preliminary Exam, your attempt is counted. If you filled up the UPSC application form but didnt go to take the Preliminary Exam, your attempt will NOT BE COUNTED.



UPSC Civil services exam is conducted in three phases and notification for exam comes in April and Prelims falls in August. The prelims result comes in September. The Mains exam falls in December and result is out mostly in Feb/ March

Stage I

A preliminary examination or CSAT (Objective Section) consisting of two objective-type papers (general studies and aptitude test).

Stage II

A main examination is subjective section, consisting of nine papers of conventional (essay)


After these two stages there is a Personality Test which is mostly conducted in months of March and April. Final result comes out in May/ June.

 For more info....visit Career Desk or call us @ 9029021092

Quick Enquiry

Join Career Desk - Exclusive RBI Batch (40 Days batch) Express (Regular / Weekend / Online)

Read More